Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » RossTraining.com Forums » Strength and Conditioning

Post subject: Wrist pain during handstand pushups
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:37 am 

Yesterday I tried wall handstand pushups. I managed to do a couple, but then I suddenly had to quit because of pain in my wrists.

I have been working on my wall handstand pushup progress for a couple of months now. First I familiarized myself with standing upside down against a wall, then I slowly started practicing the kick to wall handstand. Two weeks ago I started lowering my body while in a inverted stance against the wall, to train the handstand pushup itself. I start with 3 sets of 3 reps, lowering myself a little bit. I am nowhere near full ranged repetitions yet.

I think that my wrists are not strong enough to support my bodyweight during a handstand push up. My question, "how can I strengthen my wrists"?

Markus

Post subject: Re: Wrist pain during handstand pushups
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:49 am 

Do wrist exercises or/and exercises that includes the use of your wrist: push-ups (all kinds of variations) and pike press just to name a few. Wrist specific exercises, off the top of my head I would suggest getting a hammer, broom, whatever, hold it straight up and slowly using just your wrist rote it 90 degrees one way, then back up, then the samething the other way, and back up and that is one rep. There are also gadgets they sell but I find most quite boring and not worth the $$$. The one exercise I just mentioned, hell you can do that while watching TV so you don't experience the boredom that can come with it.

#1 tool to get fit and stay fit is consistency!

For ANY thread/post that the person types "I don't have time..." followed by some excuse read this: Make Time

Post Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:03 am