Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » RossTraining.com Forums » Strength and Conditioning

Post subject: Sumo deadlift as replacement for back squat
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:15 am 

Hello all,

Firstly, I am totally new to barbell work, so I apologize for my ignorance on this topic. I'm still learning.

I do not have a rack, so can't do heavy squats (I'm working on getting one, but will be some months till I have the cash to spend). In the meantime, I've heard it said that good squatters are usually good sumo deadlifters because the mechanics are similar. This leads me to wonder whether the mechanics are similar enough for the sumo DL to be used in place of the back squat. And if similar enough, could I replace squats in a SS-type routine?

Am I on the right track?

Many thanks,
Hamster

Post subject: Re: Sumo deadlift as replacement for back squat
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:24 am 

Deadlifts or Sumo deadlifts are good substitutes if you can't squat - throw in some good mornings too.

Not sustain additional major injuries.

Post Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:23 am 

You don't need to buy a squat rack. Google "homemade squat rack." Buy wood, some bolts, use a saw and your in business.

Look up Hack squats also called behind the back deadlifts-they hammer the legs good and hard as well.

Post Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:43 am 

Metroplex wrote:
You don't need to buy a squat rack. Google "homemade squat rack." Buy wood, some bolts, use a saw and your in business.

Look up Hack squats also called behind the back deadlifts-they hammer the legs good and hard as well.

Unfortunately, I'm about as handy as an chimp. The homemade squat rack idea is very appealing, but would cost me hundreds in lost time, new tools, etc. The learning curve may be just too steep for me. I will keep hunting craigslist...